…old things in new places…

For pragmatic reasons, I love the routine. I love the structure of it. I love knowing that my days are free. I know where I’m going at night. I know my life is kind of orderly. I just like that better.” — Andrea Martin

People often talk about being a “morning person” or a “night owl” and I think I’ve been both at times. I remember a goal I had to have a first-draft of a novel completed by the time I was 26-years old (a goal, I’m proud to say, I met!). Four months before my birthday, I woke up just about every morning at 6am and wrote. I’m not sure if that made me a morning person, but I was awake when most of my friends were peacefully enjoying an additional two hours of dreaming before work. Over the past couple of years, I’ve noticed a trend of sleeping in and going to bed a bit later (incidentally, I’ve written less). So, maybe I’m a night owl now.

Regardless, on this trip, I’ve experienced very few late nights on account of not really going out to the bars. I’ve got a new draft of a novel, right? No. Not at all. But I have seen the sunrise on occasion and it’s a beautiful thing. I, in no way, have a routine as Ms. Martin speaks of, but some things I take with me and try them out in new places.

This morning, I awoke at 6:30am and did my old Yoga-X routine in a park without anyone around (except some bathing ducks). There was still dew on the grass! Be honest: when’s the last time you were up early enough to see the morning dew?

This park also happens to have an outdoor stage and amphitheatre. For those who don’t know, I have a bit of a theatrical background. I also have a fondness for Bon Jovi and maybe a little Boyz II Men.

Yes. What you’re thinking right now did happen.

I belted out “I’ll Make Love to You” as if it was a packed house at the Apollo and followed it up with Jonny Bon’s “Always” (complete with voice cracking on notes that I should know better than to attempt). If for no one else, it was incredible for me! It reminded me of singing “The Star-Spangled Banner” in an amphitheatre in Pompeii. I do these things. I can’t help it.

Oh! I almost forgot to mention meeting a fellow gamer this morning in Brisbane’s CBD. I noticed the red and white stripes down the sleeve of a black hoodie and knew I’d see the “N7” when he turned. He lit up when I complimented his gear and again when I mentioned having worked for BioWare. Ahh, gamers. Wait, why were we up so early??

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. “So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more dangerous to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

Leave a Reply

