…turns to rain…

 

wp-1477979116840.pngThe weather’s certainly changed for the cooler and wetter as I’ve been driving around the Northwest. As luck would have it, The 59 (my Casita trailer) is having an issue with the furnace. Namely, it’s not blowing hot air.

wp-image-930319237jpg.jpg
Mirrors tucked in, just barely squeaked through.

Luckily, the roof a/c has a heating element and my brother-in-law loaned me an awesome Northface sleeping bag. These will hold me over until I get further south and can diagnose the actual problem.

I finally made it to the Redwood Forests of Northern California – should be known as the most difficult place to get to on the map. Yes, you can make the drive from Reno or San Francisco in a day if you really want to, but it’s a looong way up/over there. That said, the payoff is worth it!

wp-image-1739065011jpg.jpg
There’s a lot going on here.

The odd thing about these natural wonders is that there’s only so much I can take in.

I’m standing there, dwarfed by immense trunks, walking around them, driving past them, staring up at them…and then I can’t process it anymore. It’s too much.

Acres and acres of giant trees. Photos don’t seem to capture their majesty and I can’t really interact with them. I felt similarly about the beautiful beaches of Australia.

Have you ever been surrounded by too much beauty?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. The redwoods are awesome. I am glad you got to experience their vast, gigantic and magical beauty. Keep going and enjoy all the wonders this country has to offer.

  2. I just spent two weeks in a camper. Its really not that bad, except for the teeny tiny shower…not as small as I used to be (ahem, four kids later). How is it spending so many months in a camper?

Leave a Reply

